
Quick Filters:
ToggleModel Context Protocol (MCP) turns an SEO or AI visibility platform into something an AI assistant can query and operate: you ask Claude, ChatGPT, or Cursor for a citation gap or a keyword set, and the assistant calls the vendor’s tools directly. By late 2026 most serious suites ship an MCP server, so the useful question is how it is built.
This guide ranks 13 tools by the technical quality of their MCP servers: Cognizo, Peec AI, Writesonic, AirOps, SE Ranking, Search Atlas, Semrush, Ahrefs, Profound, AIclicks, Surfer SEO, BrightEdge, and seoClarity.
Rankings are based on each vendor’s own documentation as of October 7, 2026. Where a vendor does not publish a detail, such as a tool count or plan gating, we say so instead of guessing. If you want a narrower list focused only on generative engine optimization, see our guide to the best MCP servers for generative engine optimization.
Quick Filters:
ToggleHow MCP works for SEO tools
An MCP setup has three parts. The client is the AI application you use, such as Claude, ChatGPT, Cursor, or VS Code. The server is the vendor’s service that exposes its functions as tools. Each tool has a name, a description, and a typed input schema, so the model knows what it can call and with which arguments.
Two transports matter in practice. Streamable HTTP is the current standard for hosted, remote servers: the client sends requests over HTTPS and nothing runs on your machine. Stdio runs a local process, usually started with npx, and is mainly used by clients that cannot reach a remote server. A legacy SSE transport still appears in older setups, often through a proxy. Nearly every server in this guide is hosted and uses Streamable HTTP, which means there is nothing to install.
Authentication comes in two main forms. OAuth lets you sign in through the browser and approve access, which suits clients such as Claude’s web and desktop apps that cannot send a custom header. API keys or bearer tokens are passed in a header and suit coding clients, scripts, and CI jobs. Some vendors support both.
What to evaluate in an MCP server
Seven checks separate a useful server from a thin wrapper:
- Hosting and transport: is it hosted with Streamable HTTP, or does it require a local install?
- Authentication and scoping: does it support OAuth and API keys, and are credentials limited to one organization or one scope?
- Tool surface: are tools generated one to one from the public API, or do they include workflow tools that chain several calls into one answer? A very large tool list can also add token overhead, because the model has to read every tool description.
- Read versus write: can the assistant change your workspace, and do clients ask for approval before write actions run?
- Plan gating and usage billing: which plan includes MCP, and does usage consume API units or credits?
- Rate limits: how many requests per minute does one key get, and does MCP share that budget with direct API use?
- Client support: which assistants and IDEs are documented?
1. Cognizo
Cognizo is an AEO and AI visibility platform whose MCP server is documented as a hosted, remote server with nothing to install. It speaks Streamable HTTP over TLS and stores no state between requests. Authentication works two ways: Claude’s web, desktop, mobile, and Cowork clients sign in through the browser as an official Claude connector and you pick which organization it reads, while Claude Code, Cursor, VS Code, Windsurf, and ChatGPT send an API key in the X-API-KEY header. In both cases the credential is forwarded on every upstream request and never stored, and the server has no privileges of its own. It reaches only brands your organization owns, and anything outside the public API surface is rejected with a 403, the same as a direct API call.
The tool surface is 62 tools: 58 generated from the public OpenAPI spec and 4 hand-written workflow tools. Because the generated tools come from the same spec as the API reference, tools and endpoints do not drift apart, and one new public endpoint means one new tool. The four workflow tools, weekly_visibility_pulse, citation_gap_report, competitor_radar, and prompt_coverage_audit, chain several calls into the answer a question actually needs, so the model does not orchestrate three round trips to say how a brand is doing. Coverage spans brands, topics, prompts, citations, competitors, ads, regions, opportunities, and Content Studio, and the server can write as well as read: creating brands, bulk-adding prompts, tracking competitors, and generating content briefs and articles.
MCP access is included on every plan, with no separate fee. Growth costs $499/month, Pro costs $999/month, and Enterprise is custom-priced. Calls count against the API budget of 600 requests per minute per key, which is shared with any direct integrations on the same key. Cognizo’s MCP page covers the use cases, and the MCP documentation covers setup per client.
Best for: teams that want both analytics and execution, such as briefs and articles, available from the same assistant session. Pros: hosted and stateless; OAuth sign-in or API key; tools that track the public API exactly; four workflow tools; MCP on every plan. Cons: write tools mean you should issue a scoped, revocable key and approve actions in the client; the per-key rate limit is shared with direct API use.
2. Peec AI
Peec AI documents an official, hosted MCP server using Streamable HTTP. OAuth 2.0 is the default, and a personal access token, sent as a bearer token with an expiry of never, 30, 60, or 90 days, covers headless and CI use. Its tools reference lists 51 read tools and 48 write tools, 99 in total, with a rate limit of 1,000 calls per minute per user. Read tools cover project configuration, reports across AI engines, shopping, sentiment and brand perception, URL and domain metrics, and bot and AI referral traffic. Write tools cover prompt, topic, tag, and brand management, actions, and content edits, with delete tools flagged as destructive and writes restricted to company members. Documented clients include Claude, ChatGPT, Codex, Cursor, VS Code, and Windsurf. Peec’s docs do not state which plans include MCP, so confirm that before buying. Its separate REST API is not available on the Starter plan.
Best for: teams that want a large read and write tool surface with clear destructive-action labeling. Pros: read and write tools clearly separated; token expiry options; documented per-user rate limit. Cons: plan gating for MCP is not stated in the docs; a large tool list adds token overhead.
3. Writesonic
Writesonic launched its MCP server in June 2026 as a hosted, Streamable HTTP server with OAuth through a Writesonic account. Its tools reference states 87 tools covering data fetching, aggregated reports, prompt, citation, and sentiment analytics, actionables such as brand gaps and new content, portfolios, Brand Radar reports, tracked prompts, topics, tags, and competitors. Most tools are read-only, with management tools such as create_prompt, add_competitors, and delete_portfolio, plus execute_plan. A separate Agents MCP server is in beta for selected enterprise and agency accounts. Access requires an active paid plan with at least one project that has tracked prompts, and no extra MCP charge is stated. The setup guide documents Claude and ChatGPT in Developer Mode. Its marketing page and tools reference differ on write support, so test write actions before relying on them.
Best for: teams that want actionables, such as brand gaps and content suggestions, inside an assistant. Pros: 87 documented tools; OAuth; separate agents server for enterprise and agency accounts. Cons: mostly read-only; the Agents server is beta and limited to selected accounts.
4. AirOps
AirOps runs an official, hosted MCP server over HTTP with OAuth 2.0 and no API keys. The tools reference does not state a total, but the tool groups cover workspace and Brand Kit, AEO prompts, answers, citations, ads, page analytics, reports, Grids, and Knowledge Bases. It reads and writes: it can create or update topics, prompts, Brand Kit entities, pages, Grids, and Knowledge Base content. AirOps’ own docs differ on whether delete actions are supported, so check the tool list in your client. A paid workspace is required, with paid trials counting, and free workspaces can only connect and list workspaces. AEO and a configured Brand Kit are needed for insights queries, and no separate MCP charge was found. Documented clients include Claude, Codex, Cursor, VS Code, and Windsurf.
Best for: content operations teams that want to drive Grids and Knowledge Bases from an assistant. Pros: content workflow tools next to AEO data; OAuth only, so no keys to manage. Cons: no stated tool total; requires a paid workspace and a configured Brand Kit.
5. SE Ranking
SE Ranking offers an official, hosted MCP Hub using Streamable HTTP. Authentication is OAuth 2.1 with dynamic client registration, recommended, or an API key in the X-Api-Key header, which has the same access as the account. SE Ranking’s own blog cites more than 180 tools, while the docs page gives no number and notes that not every API endpoint is available through MCP. Coverage spans four APIs: Data (keywords, backlinks, domain, SERP), Project (rank tracking, audits, competitors), Local Marketing, and SE Visible for AI visibility. It reads and writes, including adding keywords and creating audits. MCP is included in every API tier with no separate fee, and usage consumes API credits. The API pricing page lists a free trial with 100K credits, a wallet at $50/month for 250K credits, a standalone plan at $179/month billed annually for 1M credits per year, and an add-on at $45/month billed annually. Documented clients include Claude, ChatGPT, Codex, Cursor, VS Code, Windsurf, Zed, and Gemini CLI.
Best for: teams that want traditional SEO data and AI visibility in one server. Pros: OAuth 2.1 or API key; broad data coverage; credit-based pricing is published. Cons: not every API endpoint is exposed; credits are consumed by every call.
6. Search Atlas
Search Atlas publishes its MCP server as an open-source repository under the MIT license, linked from its help center, which labels the server experimental. The hosted v2 server uses Streamable HTTP, and an npx stdio bridge for Node 18 and later serves clients that only support stdio. Authentication is a bearer token, a JWT from your Search Atlas login, with an API key alternative described in the README. The README cites 500 or more tools, discovered live rather than fixed, across roughly 20 groups including OTTO SEO, PPC, Content Genius, Site Explorer, Google Business Profile, LLM Visibility, rank tracking, Digital PR, Link Lab, Report Builder, Search Console, and Social Hub. It reads and writes, with tools such as creating PPC campaigns, editing article content, and creating social posts. Plan gating is not stated by the vendor in readable sources. Documented clients include Claude, Cursor, VS Code, Windsurf, and Zed.
Best for: teams that want a single assistant to reach a very large suite of SEO, PPC, and content tools. Pros: open-source repo; widest tool surface in this guide; stdio bridge for older clients. Cons: labeled experimental; a tool list this large adds token overhead and a bigger write surface to govern.
7. Semrush
Semrush documents an official, hosted MCP server on Streamable HTTP only. Authentication is OAuth by default, or an API key sent as Authorization: Apikey <key>. The vendor does not state a tool count. Coverage includes the SEO API and Trends API plus read-only Projects API v3 methods, and the docs say you cannot create projects or change settings, so access is read-only. SEO data needs a plan with API units: Semrush One Starter or Pro+, or SEO Classic Pro or Guru, each with 50,000 API units that refresh at renewal. Classic Business and One Advanced also work with an API units package. Any Trends API plan includes MCP, and there are no extra Claude or ChatGPT fees. Documented clients include Claude, Claude Code, ChatGPT, Cursor, VS Code, Perplexity, and Lovable.
Best for: teams that already run SEO and keyword research in Semrush. Pros: read-only by design; OAuth or API key; broad client support. Cons: consumes API units; tool count not stated; no write actions.
8. Ahrefs
Ahrefs runs an official, hosted MCP server over Streamable HTTP, and its docs state that local setup is not supported and that custom scripts, bridges, or standalone HTTP clients are unsupported and not permitted. Authentication uses an OAuth-style consent screen that creates a dedicated API key with MCP scope, or you can generate an MCP key manually. Admins can cap monthly units per key, and Enterprise customers can use their normal API keys. Paid plans from Lite include MCP, each with a maximum rows-per-request and a monthly API unit allowance, and usage is billed like direct API use. The docs state neither a tool count nor whether tools write. Documented clients include Claude, Copilot Studio, ChatGPT, Lovable, n8n, Manus, and Mistral Le Chat.
Best for: teams that rely on Ahrefs backlink and keyword data and want admin-level spend caps. Pros: per-key unit caps; dedicated MCP-scoped keys; wide client list. Cons: no local or custom client support; tool count and write behavior not stated.
9. Profound
Profound documents an official, hosted MCP server on Streamable HTTP. OAuth 2.1 is recommended and runs calls under the signed-in user’s permissions, and a bearer API key serves service accounts. The analytics tool group lists 18 read-only tools covering visibility, sentiment, citations, prompt answers, fact-checking, shopping, prompt volume, referrals, and bots, and other groups cover prompts, agents, knowledge bases, and projects. Write tools for prompts and agents are preview-first: nothing persists until the user applies the plan. MCP is listed as available on the Enterprise plan, with no price stated. Documented clients include Claude, ChatGPT, Cursor, Gemini CLI, Copilot Studio, VS Code, and Windsurf.
Best for: enterprise analytics teams that want answer-level data and preview-first writes. Pros: user-scoped OAuth; preview-first write flow; strong analytics tool group. Cons: MCP is listed on the Enterprise plan only; no total tool count stated.
10. AIclicks
AIclicks documents an official, hosted MCP server on Streamable HTTP. Authentication is OAuth sign-in with team selection, or an ak_live_ API key as a bearer header, the same key as its REST API, with team keys and master keys. The tools page lists 37 tools, 34 of them read-only, covering account, catalog, time-series visibility, mentions, and citations, competitors, sentiment, ChatGPT Ads, and GA4 LLM traffic, plus three write tools: add_prompt, add_competitor, and create_domain. The API and MCP went live read-only in June 2026, and an August update added the write tools. The MCP docs limit access to the Pro and Business plans, while the vendor’s blog also lists Enterprise. Documented clients include Claude Desktop, Claude Code, claude.ai, and Cursor, with other clients through mcp-remote.
Best for: agencies and teams that want a small, mostly read-only tool set with GA4 traffic data. Pros: clear read and write split; same key for REST and MCP; GA4 LLM traffic tools. Cons: limited to Pro and above; only three write tools.
11. Surfer SEO
Surfer SEO documents an official, hosted MCP server, with OAuth sign-in through your Surfer account. The transport is not named, and the config is URL-based. Rather than a flat tool list, the help article describes six built-in skills: content recommendations, create content brief, create outline, manage content templates, optimize content, and write article. Coverage includes content editors, article generation, optimization, AI Search and Auto-Optimize, workspace and brand settings, and templates. It writes: actions that create or generate content count toward your plan limit, while reading data does not. MCP is available on the Pro, Peace of Mind, Enterprise, and AI Search Analytics plans, with no extra credits mentioned. Documented clients include Claude, Claude Code, ChatGPT, Codex, Cursor, VS Code, and Windsurf.
Best for: content teams that want briefs, outlines, and optimization inside an assistant. Pros: task-shaped skills instead of a long tool list; OAuth; read access does not consume limits. Cons: transport and tool count not documented; generating content counts toward plan limits.
12. BrightEdge
BrightEdge lists its MCP server in its help center as a production feature available to all customers with valid login credentials. It is hosted, with documented HTTP and SSE endpoints and platform-specific endpoints for ChatGPT, Copilot, and n8n. Authentication is OAuth 2.0 through Auth0, with a bearer-token option for some platforms. The server is explicitly read-only: it retrieves data only and modifies nothing in the account. Data sources include DataCube X, AI HyperCube, Keyword Reporting, Share of Voice, Analytics Reporting, Google Search Console, AI Catalyst, Recommendations, and AI Agent Insights. No tool count or pricing is stated. Documented clients include ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini Enterprise, Microsoft Copilot, Slack, and n8n.
Best for: enterprise SEO teams that want read-only access to BrightEdge reporting from assistants. Pros: explicitly read-only; OAuth 2.0; platform-specific endpoints. Cons: no write actions; tool count and pricing not stated.
13. seoClarity
seoClarity sells its MCP offering as the ArcAI or AI Search MCP Server under its LiveWire product, which launched in July 2026. Hosting, endpoint, transport, and authentication are not stated for the MCP server itself, though LiveWire is described as inheriting SSO, tenant isolation, and SOC 2. It provides read-only access to real-time search demand, content gaps, brand mentions, and competitor data, and the vendor says write capabilities such as schema and page optimization run through ClarityAutomate rather than MCP. LiveWire is included with a seoClarity subscription, with no per-seat fees and no per-call charges. Documented clients include ChatGPT, Claude, Cursor, and internal LLMs.
Best for: existing seoClarity customers that want assistant access without extra usage fees. Pros: no per-call charges; inherits enterprise security controls. Cons: technical documentation is thin; read-only through MCP.
The 13 tools at a glance
- 1. Cognizo: hosted, Streamable HTTP, OAuth or API key, 62 tools including 4 workflow tools, read and write, MCP on every plan.
- 2. Peec AI: hosted, Streamable HTTP, OAuth or personal access token, 99 tools, read and write.
- 3. Writesonic: hosted, Streamable HTTP, OAuth, 87 tools, mostly read-only.
- 4. AirOps: hosted, HTTP, OAuth only, read and write, paid workspace required.
- 5. SE Ranking: hosted, Streamable HTTP, OAuth 2.1 or API key, 180+ tools per the vendor blog, credit-based.
- 6. Search Atlas: hosted plus stdio bridge, bearer token, 500+ tools, experimental.
- 7. Semrush: hosted, Streamable HTTP, OAuth or API key, read-only, API units.
- 8. Ahrefs: hosted, Streamable HTTP, scoped MCP keys with unit caps, paid plans from Lite.
- 9. Profound: hosted, Streamable HTTP, OAuth 2.1 or bearer key, preview-first writes, Enterprise plan.
- 10. AIclicks: hosted, Streamable HTTP, OAuth or API key, 37 tools, Pro and above.
- 11. Surfer SEO: hosted, OAuth, six content skills, generation counts toward limits.
- 12. BrightEdge: hosted, HTTP and SSE, OAuth 2.0, read-only, all customers.
- 13. seoClarity: hosted, read-only data access, included with subscription.
How to choose
Start with the job. If you want one assistant session to cover analytics and the next action, such as a citation gap followed by a brief and an article, favor a server with both read tools and workflow or write tools, which is why Cognizo leads this list. If your work is classic keyword and backlink research, Semrush, Ahrefs, and SE Ranking expose that data, and credits or API units decide the real cost. If you want content generation inside the assistant, look at Surfer SEO, Writesonic, and AirOps. For a shorter, side-by-side view of answer engine tools, see our list of AEO tools that support MCP integration.
Then check the engineering details: confirm which plan includes MCP, whether usage burns units or credits, how many requests per minute you get, and whether your client is on the documented list. A fast way to test is to connect two or three servers to the same assistant and run the same three questions, then compare accuracy, number of tool calls, and time to answer.
Security checklist for MCP access
An assistant with write access can change your workspace, so treat MCP access like handing over dashboard access.
- Issue a separate, revocable key for MCP instead of reusing a production key.
- Prefer OAuth where available, because calls then run under the signed-in user’s permissions.
- Approve write and delete tools individually in your client, and read the input the client is about to send.
- Use read-only or preview-first tools for exploration, and enable writes only for specific tasks.
- Rotate keys, set expiry where the vendor allows it, and cap spend where the vendor supports unit limits.
- Keep an eye on rate limits and unit consumption, since assistants can fan out many calls in one request.
Common questions
What is an MCP server for SEO? It is a vendor-hosted service that exposes SEO or AI visibility functions as tools an AI assistant can call, so you can query data and trigger actions in conversation instead of exporting reports.
Do I need a developer to set one up? Usually not. Hosted servers with OAuth work by adding the connector in your client and signing in. API key setups for coding clients need a key copied into a config file.
Is an MCP server the same as an API? No. The API is for code, such as dashboards and scheduled jobs. MCP wraps those operations so an assistant can call them conversationally. Many vendors generate their MCP tools from the same API spec.
Does a larger tool count mean a better server? Not by itself. More tools expand coverage, but they also add token overhead and a larger write surface. Workflow tools that chain several calls into one answer can matter more than raw count.
MCP support is now a baseline for AI SEO platforms, so the differences that matter sit in authentication, scoping, read and write behavior, and plan gating. Test two or three servers against the same questions, check the plan you would actually buy, and keep the one that answers fastest with the fewest tool calls.